Montana Historical Society

Big Sky. Big Land. Big History.

Preservation Help: Partners, Architects and Consultants

Department of Commerce
Tash Wisemiller
Montana Main Street Coordinator
Community Development Division
Montana Department of Commerce
301 S. Park Avenue; P.O. Box 200523
Helena, MT 59620-0523
(406) 841-2756 Phone
Fax: (406) 841-2771 Fax
twisemiller@mt.gov

Montana Heritage Commission
101 Reeder's Alley
Helena MT 59601
(406) 449-7081
or
P.O. Box 338
Virginia City, MT 59755
(406) 843-5247
montanaheritagecommission.mt.gov/

Department of Environmental Quality
James D. Strait
Tribal and Cultural Resources Officer
MFSA /UAV operations
Directors Office
1520 E. 6th Ave
PO Box 200901
Helena, MT 59620-0901
jstrait@mt.gov
(406)444-6765 Office (406)475-5902 Cell

Department of Natural Resources and Conservation
Patrick Rennie
DNRC Trust Lands Archaeologist
1625 11th Ave
Helena, MT 59620
prennie@mt.gov
(406) 444-2882

Montana State Parks
Rachel Reckin
Parks Heritage Program
Fish Wildlife and Parks
PO Box 200701
Helena MT 59620-0701
Rachel.Reckin@mt.gov
(406) 444-3756

Montana Department of Transportation
2701 Prospect Ave
PO Box 202001
Helena, MT 59620-1001
Historian, Jon Axline
jaxline@mt.gov
(406) 444-6358
Archaeologist, Ryan Wendel
rwendel@mt.gov
(406) 444-0455

ASSINIBOINE & SIOUX TRIBES CULTURAL RESOURCE COMMITTEE
Dyan Youpee, THPO
PO Box 1027
Fort Peck Agency
Poplar, MT 59255
Phone: (406) 768-2382
d.youpee@fortpecktribes.net
www.fortpecktribes.org/crd/

BLACKFEET NATION TRIBE
John Murray, THPO
PO Box 850
Browning, MT 59417
Phone: (406) 338-7522
jmflysdown@gmail.com

FORT BELKNAP INDIAN COMMUNITY
Michael J. Black Wolf, THPO
656 Agency Main Street
Harlem MT 59526
Phone: (406) 353-2295
mblackwolf@ftbelknap.org

THE CROW TRIBE OF INDIANS
Aaron B. Brien, THPO
PO Box 159
Crow Agency, MT 59022
Cell: (406)-679-2511
Phone: (406)839-3817
aaron.brien@crow-nsn.gov

NORTHERN CHEYENNE TRIBE
Teanna Limpy, THPO
PO Box 128- N. Cheyenne Agency
Lame Deer, MT 59043
Phone: (406) 477-4839

Andrew J. Richard
Northern Cheyenne Tribal Archaeologist
Lame Deer, MT 59043
Cell: 406-548-4841 andrew.richard@cheyennenation.com

CHIPPEWA CREE CULTURAL RESOURCES PRESERVATION DEPARTMENT
Jonathan Windy Boy, THPO
9740 Upper Box Elder Rd.
Box Elder, MT 59521
Phone: (406) 395-4700
Jonathan.windyboy@nei-yahw.com
Chippewa Cree Cultural Resources Preservation Department

CONFEDERATED SALISH & KOOTENAI TRIBES PRESERVATION DEPARTMENT
Kathryn McDonald, THPO
PO Box 278
Pablo, MT 59855
406-675-2700 x1077
Kathryn.McDonald@cskt.org

LITTLE SHELL CULTURE COMMITTEE
Gerald Grey
625 Central Ave West Suite 100
Great Falls MT 59404
Phone: 406-315-2400
ggray@gng.net

Montana Preservation Alliance
Chere Jiusto, Exc. Director
120 Reeder's Alley
Helena, MT 59601
(406) 457-2822
www.preservemontana.org
info@preservemontana.org

Billings Preservation Society
914 Division St.
Billings, MT 59101
406-256-5100
www.mossmansion.com

Butte Citizens for Preservation and Revitalization
PO Box 164
Butte, MT 59703
www.buttecpr.org

Conrad Mansion
PO Box 1041
Kalispell, MT 59903
406-755-2166
www.conradmansion.com

Daly Mansion Preservation Trust
PO Box 223
Hamilton, MT 59840
406-363-6004
www.dalymansion.org

Humanities Montana
311 Brantly
Missoula, MT 59812
406-243-6022
www.humanitiesmontana.org

Montana Archaeological Society
P.O. Box 4522
Missoula, MT 59806-4522
www.mtarchaeologicalsociety.org/

Montana History Foundation
1750 N. Washington St.
Helena, MT 59601
406-449-3770
www.montanahistoryfoundation.org

Museums Association of Montana
PO Box 1451
Helena, MT 59624
406-444-4713
www.montanamuseums.org

Preservation Cascade, Inc.
1409 Fourth Ave. South
Great Falls, MT 59405-2415
406-452-5492
www.montanas-archbridge.org

Preserve Historic Missoula
201 S. Fourth St. W. #2
Missoula, MT 59806
406-820-0302
www.preservehistoricmissoula.org

Western Heritage Center
2822 Montana Avenue
Billings MT 59101
406-256-6809
www.ywhc.org

National Forests

Jorie Clark
Regional Archaeologist
US Forest Service
26 Fort Missoula Rd
Missoula, MT 59804
jorieclark@fs.fed.us
(406) 329-3654

Beaverhead/Deerlodge National Forest
Professional Archaeologist, Ayme Swartz
(406) 560-5250  |  ayme.swartz@usda.gov
South Zone Archaeologist, Mike Ryan
420 Barrett Street - Dillon, MT 59725
(406) 683-3891 
North Zone Archaeologist, Tammy Cherullo
1820 Meadowlark - Butte MT 59701
(406) 494-0256  |  tcherullo@fs.fed.us

Bitterroot National Forest
Matthew Werle
1801 N. First Street - Hamilton, MT 59840
(406) 363-7183  |  mwerle@fs.fed.us

Custer-Gallatin National Forest
Halcyon Lapoint
5001 Southgate Dr #2 - Billings, MT 59105
(406) 255-1455  |  hlapoint@fs.fed.us

East Zone Archaeologist-Mike Bergstrom
West Zone Archaeologist-Connie Constan

Flathead National Forest
Ryan Powell
650 Wolfpack Way
Kalispell, MT 59901
Ryan.Powell@usda.gov

Helena-Lewis and Clark National Forest

Mark Bodily
1220 38th Street North
Great Falls MT 59405
mbodily@fs.fed.us
406-791-7742

Arian Randall
Deputy Forest Archaeologist
2880 Skyway Drive
Helena MT 59602
arandall@fs.fed.us
(406) 495-3752

Kootenai National Forest
Cindy Hemry
31374 US Hwy 2
Libby MT 59923
chemry@fs.fed.us
(406) 283-7666

Libby District - Tommy Livoti
Three Rivers and Cabinet Ranger Districts - Dustin Hill

Lolo National Forest
East Zone Archaeologist
Sydney Bacon
Fort Missoula Building 24
Missoula, MT 59804
sbacon@fs.fed.us
(406) 329-3853

West Zone Archaeologist
Erika Karuzas

BLM State Office Archaeologist

5001 Southgate Drive
Billings MT 59107
Gary Smith
gary_smith@blm.gov
(406) 896-5000

Butte Field Office Archaeologist
PO Box 3388
Butte, MT 59701
Carolyn Kiely
carolyn_kiely@blm.gov
(406) 533-7624

Missoula Field Office Archaeologist
3255 Fort Missoula
Missoula, MT 59804
Jody Miller
jmiller@blm.gov
(406) 329-1058

Miles City Field Office Archaeologist
111 Garryowen Rd
Miles City, MT 59301
CJ Truesdale
ctruesda@blm.gov
(406) 233-2847

Billings Field Office Archaeologist
5001 Southgate Drive
Billings MT 59107
Jennifer Macy
jmacy@blm.gov
(406)896-5234

BLM North Central Montana District Archaeologist
Upper Missouri River Breaks National Monument
Lewistown, Malta, Glasgow Field Offices

3990 Highway 2 West
Havre, MT 59501
Josh Chase
406-262-2840 (office)
jchase@blm.gov

Dillon Field Office Archaeologist
1005 Selway Drive
Dillon, MT 59725
Shannon Gilbert
sgilbert@blm.gov
(406) 683-8029

BLM Office of Law Enforcement
Alan Wolf
Assistant Special Agent in Charge
5001 Southgate Drive
Billings, MT 59101
awolf@blm.gov

BIA Archaeologist
316 N 26th St
Billings MT 59107
Jo'etta Plumage
Jo’Etta.Plumage@bia.gov
(406) 247-7911
Fax:(406) 247-7976
Zone Archaeologist, MT/UT/WY
Bozeman Fish Technology Center
4050 Bridger Canyon Road
Bozeman MT 59715
Allison Parrish
Allison_Parrish@fws.gov
(406) 994-9949
BOR-Montana Area Office Archaeologist
PO Box 30137
Billings, MT 59107
Rick Hanson
Rdhanson@usbr.gov
(406) 247-7666
Archaeologist, Cultural Resource Specialist
10 East Babcock Street, Room 443
Bozeman, MT 59771
Andrew M. Williamson
Andrew.Williamson@mt.usda.gov
(406) 587-6968 (Office)
(406) 595-6507 (Mobile)
Yellowstone National Park
National Park Service
Cultural Resources
PO Box 168
Wyoming 82190
Beth Horton
(307) 344-2290
Beth_Horton@nps.gov

Glacier National Park
National Park Service
Cultural Resources Specialist
West Glacier, MT 59936
Sierra Mandelko
(406) 888-7943