Centennial Farm and Ranch Program

Centennial Farm and Ranch Program graphicThe 2009 Montana Legislature created the Montana Centennial Farm and Ranch Program to recognize and commemorate the agricultural traditions of Montana. Through this program, farm or ranch families that have owned or lived on their land for 100 years or more may be recognized for their contribution to Montana's history.

Requirements for the program are:

Proof of continuous ownership by members of the same family beginning with the founder and concluding with the present owner, spanning minimally 100 years.

Proof of founding date, commonly through a deed, and subsequent deeds.

Line of ownership from the first family member(s)—those whom you consider to be the founder(s)—may be through spouses, children, brothers, sisters, nephews, nieces, or adopted children.

Must be a working farm or ranch with a minimum of 160 acres or if fewer than 160 acres, must have gross yearly sales of at least $1,000.

One current owner must be a Montana resident.

Application fee is $60. To apply, please complete this Centennial Farm and Ranch Application (Word) (PDF).

Recipients receive an official certificate from the MT Historical Society signed by the current Montana governor.