Montana Historical Society

Big Sky. Big Land. Big History.

Research Center Hours

Construction on the New Montana Heritage Center has begun! Parking can be more challenging. You may need extra time, and patience, when parking for your visit to the Research Center. Since the area around the Montana Historical Society is an active construction site, please be aware that there also may be construction noise during your visit or unexpected closures. For questions, please contact us at mhslibrary@mt.gov.

We are open to the public on:

Tuesday through Friday, 9-12 and 1-4

We are closed Saturday through Monday and on state holidays.

New Year's 2021 Friday, January 1
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 18
Presidents' Day Monday, February 15
Memorial Day Monday, May 31
Independence Day observed Monday, July 5
Labor Day Monday, September 6
Columbus Day Monday, October 11
Veterans Day Thursday, November 11
Thanksgiving Thursday, November 25
Christmas observed Friday, December 24
New Year's 2021 observed Friday, December 31, 2021