2019 Historic Preservation Awards Ceremony & Reception

2017 Preservation Awards

January 20, 2017
The Myrna Loy Center

Every two years, the Montana Historical Society’s State Historic Preservation Office hosts the Historic Preservation Awards Ceremony.  This year, Lt. Governor Mike Cooney will join the staff of the State Historic Preservation Office and Bruce Whittenberg, Director of the Montana Historical Society, to recognize persons and/or projects that have contributed to the preservation of Montana’s historic resources in a significant way.  Four awards will be presented in 2017, as well as recognition of retired Historic Preservation Review Board members (Miki Wilde, Jon Axline, and Lesley Gilmore).

Certificates of registration will also be given to the properties that have been listed in the National Register of Historic Places within the past two years.  The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation’s cultural resources worthy of preservation. 

2017 Montana Historic Preservation Award Recipients

Arvon Block, Great Falls - Outstanding Historic Preservation Rehabilitation Project

Arvon Blocks

In 2012, the State Historic Preservation Office and Cascade County Preservation Office jointly funded a feasibility study of renovating the historic Arvon Block in Great Falls, which at the time was in a total state of disrepair. The study spurred the rehabilitation of the building by a dedicated group of owners to its present condition. The utilization of Federal Tax Credits assisted the owners in the building’s rehabilitation. Originally a livery stable when constructed in 1890, the Arvon Block currently houses the Celtic Cowboy Pub and Restaurant, the Historic Arvon Hotel, and the Darkhorse Hall and Darkhorse Wine Snug.

Teslow Preservation Group, LLC, Livingston - Outstanding Historic Preservation Advocacy

Save The Teslow

A massive icon in the town of Livingston, the Teslow Grain Elevator has stood sentinel over the community for 110 years. However, the 1906-constructed edifice came perilously close to demolition in 2016 before the local organization, Teslow Preservation Group, LLC, recognizing its historic significance to the town, quickly formed and fund-raised to purchase the structure, ensuring its survival for the foreseeable future. After its acquisition, installation of supports further secured the structure. A new roof is planned in the near future.

2017 Governor's Award Billings Public Schools: McKinley and Broadwater Elementary School Rehabilitations, Billings School District - Outstanding Historic Preservation Stewardship

Broadwater School, Billings

Billings School District 2 faced a major decision: renovate two of the oldest schools in Billings or tear them down and construct new schools. Recognizing the importance and significance of the historic schools to the neighborhoods’ identity, the school district placed a $122 million bond on the ballot in 2013 that including rehabilitation of McKinley and Broadwater elementary schools. Voters passed the bond, reaffirming the importance of the schools to not only their neighborhoods, but to the greater Billings area. The passage of the bond resulted in historically sensitive remodels and additions designed by CTA Architects and implemented by Dick Anderson Construction and Hardy Construction companies, ensuring continued use of both schools well into the future.

Kirby Matthew, USFS Retired - Outstanding Contribution to Historic Preservation

Kirby Matthews

Since 2000, Kirby Matthew has been instrumental in the preservation of over 150 historic Forest Service buildings and structures across Montana and the west.  His expertise in building stabilization, rehabilitation, and restoration has resulted in other federal agencies outside the Forest Service requesting his and his team’s assistance in preserving their historic resources.  In the course of his work, Mr. Matthew developed the USFS Region One Traditional Skills Program, which teaches the use of traditional tools including crosscut saws and axes, and the Preservation Skills Training Classes, teaching the hands-on skills of repairing log buildings.  In what little spare time Kirby has, he serves as the local preservation officer for the town of Deer Lodge.  

2017 Historic Preservation Award Ceremony photos

Awards Banner Image

Properties listed during the past biennium

County Property Property City/State
Blaine Ervin Homestead/ Gist Bottom Historic District  
Carbon Camp Senia Historic District Boundary Increase and Addendum  
Carbon Rock Creek Ranger Station Red Lodge
Carter First National Bank of Ekalaka and Rickard Hardware Store Building Ekalaka
Cascade East Side Neighborhood Historic District Great Falls
Fergus Stafford’s Grocery Winifred
Flathead Swan River Bridge Bigfork
Flathead/Glacier Glacier National Park Multiple Property Listing Amendment
Glacier Rising Wolf
Gallatin Elkhorn Ranch Historic District Gallatin Gateway
Lewis and Clark Montana State Capitol Campus Historic District Helena
Lewis and Clark Fort Harrison Veterans’ Hospital Historic District Helena
Madison Doncaster Round Barn Twin Bridges
Missoula Maclay Bridge Missoula
Missoula University Area Historic District Addendum III, Patterson Building Missoula
Park Convict Grade Historic District Springdale
Park Gardiner Jail Gardiner
Ravalli Hayward Lodge Darby
Yellowstone Arnold Graf House Billings
Yellowstone McMullen Hall Billings
Yellowstone North Elevation Historic District Billings