Montana Historical Society

Big Sky. Big Land. Big History.

Research Center Staff

Rich Aarstad, State Archivist
(406) 444-6779
Email:   raarstad@mt.gov

  • Archives collection management
  • Contact for donations of manuscripts and documents
  • Inquiries regarding state and local government records transfers
  • Reference

Laurie Chipps, Technical Services Librarian
(406) 444-4787
Email:   Laurie.Chipps@mt.gov

  • Library collection management
  • Inquiries regarding care and cataloging of books, documents, and maps
  • Questions regarding electronic access to catalogs and collections
  • Reference

Tom Ferris, Archival Photographer
(406) 444-3514
Email:   tferris@mt.gov

  • Technical assistance regarding photography
  • Consultations concerning archival processing and printing
  • Production of images

Roberta Gebhardt, Research Center Director
(406) 444-4702
Email:   rgebhardt@mt.gov

  • Program collection management and development
  • Long range planning, goals, objectives, and policies
  • Staff supervision and budget oversight
  • Comments, commendations, and complaints

Heather Hultman, Senior Photograph Archivist
(406) 444-3668
Email:   heather.hultman@mt.gov

  • Information regarding the photograph collection
  • Technical assistance regarding care, preservation and cataloging of photographs
  • Reference

Dan Karalus, Library Manager/NDNP Project Coordinator
(406) 444-7428
Email:  daniel.karalus@mt.gov

  • Library collection management
  • Inquiries regarding care and cataloging of books, documents, and maps
  • Questions regarding electronic access to catalogs and collections
  • Newspaper digitization and management for the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP)
  • Information regarding newspaper digitization
  • Questions regarding or problems with the MontanaNewspapers.org and Chronicling America websites
  • Reference

Jeff Malcomson, Photograph Archives Manager
(406) 444-0261
Email:  jmalcomson@mt.gov

  • Photographic collection management
  • Information regarding Montana photographers and photographic history
  • Inquiries regarding photograph policies and permission
  • Reference

Maggie Meredith, Library Technician
(406) 444-9526
Email:  maggie.meredith@mt.gov

  • Inquiries regarding new materials and book orders
  • Questions concerning library databases
  • Reference

Lindsey Mick, Government Records Archivist
(406) 444-7427
Email: lindsey.mick@mt.gov

  • Contact for transferring state and local government records
  • Information regarding state and local government collections
  • Reference

Aaron Rau, Archivist
(406) 444-7059
Email:   aaron.rau@mt.gov

  • Legislative electronic records
  • Questions regarding legislative records
  • Reference

Pam Smith, Photograph Archives Technician
(406) 444-4739
Email:   psmith2@mt.gov

  • Processes orders for reproductions of photographs and other Research Center materials
  • Answers inquiries related to the orders and questions about reprographic procedures and prices

Zoe Ann Stoltz, Reference Historian
(406) 444-1988
Email:   zstoltz@mt.gov

  • General inquiries regarding Montana History
  • Livestock brand and genealogy research
  • Reference

Anneliese Warhank, Archivist
(406) 444-4774
Email:   awarhank@mt.gov

  • Donations of manuscript collections and government records
  • Questions regarding care and preservation of historical manuscript records
  • Reference assistance regarding Montana history and pertinent archival collections

Vacant,  Archivist

  • Technical assistance regarding care and organization of manuscript
  • Information regarding corporate records and Montana business history
  • Reference

Vacant, Photograph Archivist

  • Information regarding the photograph and film collections
  • Technical assistance regarding care, preservation and cataloging of photographs, films and audio/visual materials
  • Reference