Top Navigation Menu

Historic Preservation Staff

Mark Baumler, Ph. D., State Historic Preservation Officer
(406) 444-7717
Email: mbaumler@mt.gov

  • MHS historic preservation program manager
  • Staff supervision
  • Historic preservation planning, goals, objectives, policies and priorities
  • Programmatic agreements and partnerships
  • Comments, commendations and complaints

John Boughton, National Register Coordinator
(406) 444-3647
Email: JBoughton@mt.gov

  • Inquiries regarding NR listing or listed properties
  • Creates, edits and submits NR nominations to the State Review Board and the Keeper
  • Significance of Historical Properties

Peter Brown, Historic Architecture Specialist
(406) 444-7718
Email: pebrown@mt.gov

  • Tax Act project development and review
  • Technical assistance for structural rehabilitation and restoration
  • Lead Section 106 review for architectural properties
  • CDBG, CTEP, Travel MT, Art Council and Cultural Trust Grant Review

Jennifer Peterson, Administrative Assistant
(406) 444-7715
Email: JPeterson3@mt.gov 

  • Correspondence tracking
  • Maintains Service Directory, mailing lists
  • National Register Packets
  • General information and telephone assistance

Damon Murdo, Cultural Records Manager
(406) 444-7767
Email: dmurdo@mt.gov

  • Management of State Antiquities Database including Cultural Resource Information System (CRIS), Cultural Resource Annotated Bibliography System (CRABS) and Geographic Information System (GIS)
  • Conducts File Searches for federal and state agencies
  • Recommendations regarding need for inventory or other identification efforts
     

Lisa Pocha, Federal Grants Manager
(406) 444-7768
Email: lpocha2@mt.gov

  • Grants assistance and management
  • Contract preparation and budget review
  • Audit reports

Kate Hampton, Community Preservation Coordinator
(406) 444-7742
Email: khampton@mt.gov

  • Coordinator for certified local governments/local preservation offices
  • Historical survey, community district and thematic NR nominations
  • Information and assistance regarding listed properties, preservation grants, and heritage education resources

Steffany Meredyk, Cultural Records Assistant
(406) 444-4724
Email: smeredyk@mt.gov

  • Data technician for the GIS (CRIS digitizing)
  • Issues Smithsonian Numbers for newly located archaeological, historic, and paleontological sites.
  • Performs site form requests.

Jessica Bush, Compliance officer
(406) 444-0388
Email: JBush2@mt.gov

  • Primary section 106 compliance contact
  • Historical property types eligibility and effect
  • Section 106 training, PA and MOA development
  • Compliance information assistance

Stan Wilmoth, Ph. D., State Archaeologist
(406) 444-7719
Email: swilmoth@mt.gov

  • Archaeological and Traditional Cultural Properties consultation
  • State Antiquities Permits
  • General guidance, technical assistance and heritage education