Top Navigation Menu

Preservation Help: Partners, Architects and Consultants

Montana State Agencies
Federal Agencies
Montana Tribal Contacts
Community Historic Preservation Officers
Local Preservation Groups
Montana Historic Preservation Review Board (PDF)
Architects and Trades People (PDF)
Cultural Resource Consulting Services: History and Archaeology (PDF)

Montana State Agencies

Department of Commerce
Tash Wisemiller
Montana Main Street Coordinator
Community Development Division
Montana Department of Commerce
301 S. Park Avenue; P.O. Box 200523
Helena, MT 59620-0523
(406) 841-2756 Phone
Fax: (406) 841-2771 Fax
twisemiller@mt.gov

Montana Heritage Commission
101 Reeder's Alley
Helena MT 59601
(406) 449-7081
or
P.O. Box 338
Virginia City, MT 59755
(406) 843-5247
montanaheritagecommission.mt.gov/

Department of Natural Resources and Conservation
Patrick Rennie
DNRC Trust Lands Archaeologist
1625 11th Ave
Helena, MT 59620
prennie@mt.gov
(406) 444-2882

Montana State Parks
Sara Scott
Parks Heritage Program
Fish Wildlife and Parks
PO Box 993
Lolo MT 59802
Sarascott@mt.gov
(406) 273-4671

Montana Department of Transportation
2701 Prospect Ave
PO Box 202001
Helena, MT 59620-1001
- Archaeologist, Steve Platt
splatt@mt.gov
(406) 444-0455
- Historian, Jon Axline
jaxline@mt.gov
(406) 444-6358

Federal Agencies

National Forests

Carl Davis
Regional Archaeologist
US Forest Service
200 East Broadway
Federal Building
Missoula, MT 59807
cmdavis@fs.fed.us
(406) 329-3654

Beaverhead/Deerlodge National Forest
- South Zone Archaeologist
Ryan Powell
420 Barrett Street
Dillon, MT 59725
(406) 683-3891
-North Zone Archaeologist 
Tammy Cherullo
1820 Meadowlark
Butte MT 59701
tcherullo@fs.fed.us
(406) 494-0256

Bitterroot National Forest
Mary Williams
1810 N. First Street
Hamilton, MT 59840
mhwilliams@fs.fed.us
(406) 363-3131

Custer National Forest
Halcyon Lapoint
1310 Main Street
Billings, MT 59105
hlapoint@fs.fed.us
(406) 657-6200

Flathead National Forest
Tim Light
650 Wolfpack Way
Kalispell, MT 59901
tlight@fs.fed.us
(406) 758-5204

Gallatin National Forest
Marcia Pablo
PO Box 130
Bozeman MT 59771
mlpablo@fs.fed.us
(406) 587-6941

Helena-Lewis and Clark National Forest
Mark Bodily
1101 15th St. North
Great Falls MT 59401
mbodily@fs.fed.us
406-791-7742

Kootenai National Forest
Justin Moschelle
31374 US Hwy 2
Libby MT 59923
justinmoschelle@fs.fed.us 
(406) 283-7666

Lolo National Forest
Sydney Bacon
Fort Missoula Building 24
Missoula, MT 59804
sbacon@fs.fed.us
(406) 329-3853

Bureau of Land Management

BLM State Office Archaeologist

5001 Southgate Drive
Billings MT 59107
Gary Smith
gary_smith@blm.gov
(406) 896-5000

Butte Field Office Archaeologist
PO Box 3388
Butte, MT 59701
Carolyn Kiely
carolyn_kiely@blm.gov
(406) 533-7624

Missoula Field Office Archaeologist
3255 Fort Missoula
Missoula, MT 59804
Jody Miller
jody_miller@blm.gov
(406) 329-1058

Miles City Field Office Archaeologist
111 Garryowen Rd
Miles City, MT 59301
Doug Melton
doug_melton@blm.gov
(406) 233-2847

Billings Field Office Archaeologist
5001 Southgate Drive
Billings MT 59107
Jennifer Macy
jmacy@blm.gov
(406)896-5114

Lewistown Field Office Archaeologist
P.O. Box 1160
Lewistown, MT 59457
Zane Fulbright
zane_fulbright@blm.gov
(406)538-1923

Havre Field Office Archaeologist
3990 Highway 2 West
Havre, MT 59501
Joshua Chase
Joshua_Chase@blm.gov
(406) 265-5891

Dillon Field Office Archaeologist
1005 Selway Drive
Dillon, MT 59725
Jason Strahl
jason_strahl@blm.gov
(406) 683-8033

BLM Office of Law Enforcement
Alan Wolf
Assistant Special Agent in Charge
5001 Southgate Drive
Billings, MT 59101
awolf@blm.gov
 

Bureau of Indian Affairs

BIA Archaeologist
316 N 26th St
Billings MT 59107
Jo'etta Buckhouse
Jo’Etta.Buckhouse@bia.gov
(406) 247-7911
Fax:(406) 247-7976

US Fish And Wildlife Service

USFWS Region 6 Archaeologist
National Wildlife Refuge System
Barry Williams
barry_williams@fws.gov
 

Bureau of Reclamation

BOR-Montana Area Office Archaeologist
PO Box 30137
Billings, MT 59107
Rick Hanson
Rdhanson@usbr.gov
(406) 247-7666

National Park Service

Yellowstone National Park
National Park Service
Cultural Resources
PO Box 168
Wyoming 82190
Staffan Peterson
(307) 344-2003
Staffan_peterson@nps.gov

Glacier National Park
National Park Service
Cultural Resources
West Glacier, MT 59936
Lon Johnson, Historic Architect
(406) 888-7943

Bighorn Canyon National Recreation Area
National Park Service
Cultural Resources
20 Highway 14A East
Lovell, WY 82431
Suika M. Rivett, Archaeologist
Phone: (307) 548-5409
Cell: (406) 679-2063

Little Bighorn Battlefield National Monument
National Park Service
Cultural Resources
PO Box 39
Crow Agency, MT 59022-0039
Christopher Ziegler, Chief of Cultural and Natural Resource Management
(406) 638-3220

Heritage Partnerships Program National Park Service, Intermountain Region
Christina Dickinson, Historian
12795 W. Alameda Parkway
Denver, CO 80228
(303) 987-6690
Christina_Dickinson@nps.gov

Montana Tribal Contacts

ASSINIBOINE & SIOUX TRIBES CULTURAL RESOURCE COMMITTEE
Curley Youpee, THPO
PO Box 1027
Fort Peck Agency
Poplar, MT 59255
Phone: (406) 768-2382
cultres@nemontel.net

BLACKFEET NATION TRIBE
John Murray, THPO
PO Box 2809
Browning, MT 59417
Phone: (406) 338-7522
johnmurray@blackfeetplanning.org

FORT BELKNAP INDIAN COMMUNITY
RR 1, Box 66
Harlem MT 59526-9455
Michael Black Wolf
Phone: (406) 353-8471
mblackwolf@ftbelknap.org 

WHITE CLAY SOCIETY

George Horse Capture
PO Box 340
Hays, MT 59527
Phone: (406) 673-3366

BUFFALO CHASERS SOCIETY
John Allen
PO Box 834
Harlem, MT 59526

THE CROW TRIBE OF INDIANS
Emerson Bull Chief, THPO
PO Box 159
Crow Agency, MT 59022
Phone: (406) 638-4238
Emerson.BullChief@crow-nsn.gov

NORTHERN CHEYENNE TRIBE
James Walks Along, THPO
PO Box 128- N. Cheyenne Agency
Lame Deer, MT 59043
Phone: (406) 477-4839
 

CHIPPEWA CREE CULTURAL RESOURCE PRESERVATION DEPARTMENT
Alvin Windy Boy, THPO
RR 1 #544
Box Elder, MT 59521
Phone: (406) 352-3077
Alvin@nei-yahu.com

CONFEDERATED SALISH & KOOTENAI TRIBES PRESERVATION DEPARTMENT
Francis Auld, THPO
PO Box 278
Pablo, MT 59855
406-675-2700
francisa@cskt.org 

LITTLE SHELL CULTURE COMMITTEE
Al Wiseman
PO Box 155
Choteau MT 59422
Phone: 406-466-2718

Community Historic Preservation Officers: Certified Local Governments

Other Preservation Groups/Organizations

Montana Preservation Alliance
Chere Jiusto, Exc. Director
120 Reeder's Alley
Helena, MT 59601
(406) 457-2822
www.preservemontana.org
info@preservemontana.org

Billings Preservation Society
914 Division St.
Billings, MT 59101
406-256-5100
www.mossmansion.com

Butte Citizens for Preservation and Revitalization
PO Box 164
Butte, MT 59703
www.buttecpr.org

Conrad Mansion
PO Box 1041
Kalispell, MT 59903
406-755-2166
www.conradmansion.com

Daly Mansion Preservation Trust
PO Box 223
Hamilton, MT 59840
406-363-6004
www.dalymansion.org

Humanities Montana
311 Brantly
Missoula, MT 59812
406-243-6022
www.humanitiesmontana.org

Montana Archaeological Society
P.O. Box 2123
Billings, MT 59103
406-994-6925
www.mtarchaeologicalsociety.org/

Montana History Foundation
1750 N. Washington St.
Helena, MT 59601
406-449-3770
www.montanahistoryfoundation.org

Museums Association of Montana
PO Box 1451
Helena, MT 59624
406-444-4713
www.montanamuseums.org

Preservation Cascade, Inc.
1409 Fourth Ave. South
Great Falls, MT 59405-2415
406-452-5492
www.montanas-archbridge.org

Preserve Historic Missoula
201 S. Fourth St. W. #2
Missoula, MT 59806
406-820-0302
www.preservehistoricmissoula.org

Western Heritage Center
2822 Montana Avenue
Billings MT 59101
406-256-6809
www.ywhc.org